2009-2010 Major Awards  I will do my best to keep up this page.  Check back to see how the MHS team is faring!

Milbank After School Oral Interp Contest Katie Loetsch--1st Superior in Serious Prose

Natasha Hartman--1st Superior in Serious Drama

Deuel Oral Interp Invite 1st in Team Sweepstakes

Natasha Hartman and Sarah Miller--1st in Duet Interp

Natasha Hartman--2nd in Serious Drama

Readers Theatre (John Ward, Brock Rudebush, Brent Seehafer)--2nd

Jeremy DeVaal--2nd in Oratory

Jeremy DeVaal--4th in Humorous

Brent Seehafer--5th in Serious Prose

Milbank Novice Interp Rebecca Schrupp--1st superior in drama

Katie Loetsch--1st superior in prose

Readers Theatre (Timothy Whelen, John Ward, Brock Rudebusch)--1st superior

NSU Oral Interp Seth McDonald finished fifth in Humorous.

Sarah Miller was second in Serious drama

Amanda Lambrechts was fourth in Oratory.

Arlington Oral Interp Superior Plus ratings were won by:

Natasha Hartman and Sarah Miller--Duo

Jeremy DeVaal--Humorous

Amanda Lambrechts--Oratory

Jeremy DeVaal--Oratory

Amanda Lambrechts--Poetry

Natasha Hartman--Drama

Sarah Miller--Drama

Pumpkinstakes Amanda Lambrechts was 5th in original oratory.  John Ward, Seth Phillips, and Emma Christensen all won awards in discussion
Brookings Novice Debate Tim Whelan and John Ward tied for first in Novice A. 3-0
Dell Rapids Quarrier Interp 1st superiors

Amanda Lambrechts--Oratory

Jeremy DeVaal--Humorous

Natasha Hartman and Sarah Miller--Duet

Golden Eagle Cup Class A Sweepstakes--2nd

Sarah Miller--2nd in Drama

Jesse Nelson--3rd in Novice Extemp

Natasha Hartman--5th in Drama

Jeremy DeVaal--5th in Humorous

Region IV Interp Team sweepstakes--1st and everyone qualified for state!

Jeremy DeVaal--Humorous

Amanda Lambrechts--Poetry and Oratory

Natasha Hartman--Drama

Natasha Hartman and Sarah Miller--Duo

Brent Seehafer--Prose

Brock Rudebusch, Jesse Nelson, Tim Whelan and John Ward--Readers Theatre

Watertown Novice Debate A Novice--1st--Jesse Nelson and Seth Phillips

Undefeated records went to Jesse Nelson and Seth Phillips, Tim Whalen and John Ward, Brock Rudebusch and Brandi Neidert, Rebecca Schrupp and Tori Hopkins

Aberden Novice Debate Bailey Neidert and Rebecca Schrupp
State Interp Jeremy DeVaal received a superior. 

These people rated excellents:

Natasha Hartman--Drama

Jesse Nelson, Tim Whelan, Brock Rudebusch, Tim Whalen--Readers Theatre

Sarah Miller and Natasha Hartman--Duo

Amanda Lambrechts--Poetry and Oratory

Brent Seehafer--Prose

Lisa Sippel Novice Debate--Groton Only undefeated 2-person team--Brock Rudebusch and Dezmond Ward

1st place--Bailey Slaby and Tim Whelan--Aff Sierra Baumgart and Cheyenne Voeltz--Neg

Upper Dakota Forensic League 1st in policy debate--Amanda Lambrechts and Natasha Hartman

Jeremy DeVaal--4th in Humorous Interp

Katie Loutsch--3rd in Novice Interp

Allsin McDonald--4th in Novice Interp

Rebecca Schrupp and Nathaniel Steinlicht--tied for 5th in Novice Interp

John Ward--4th in B Extemp

Nathaniel Steinlicht and Allwin McDonald--3rd in Duo

Brent Seehafer--3rd in Serious Drama


Novice Individual Events--Watertown  
Bell Debate and IE 3rd in Class A sweepstakes

Nathaniel Steinlicht and Camilla Oedling--4th in novice public Forum debate

Fargo Shanley PMJ BBBBrrrrrrrr--Did not attend because of weather (Only Fargo schools were able to compete)
Sioux Falls Lincoln Silver Bowl  
Watertown Speech Fiesta Storms--Another weekend tournament cancelled
Yankton Lewis and Clark Class A Sweepstakes--2nd

Tim Whelan--4th in Novice Oratory

Natasha Hartman--5th in Dramatic Interp

Rachel Johannsen--3rd in Novice Oratory

Katie Loutsch and Sam Grorud--4th in Novice Public Forum

Harrisburg Challenge Class A Team Champions

Jesse Nelson--3rd in Novice Lincoln/Douglas debate

State A Debate Team Sweepstakes--3rd

Natasha Hartman--2nd in Original Oratory

Jesse Nelson--2nd in US extemp

Mitch Wagner--3rd in US extemp

Amanda Lambrechts and Natasha Hartman--Quarterfinalists in policy debate

John Ward and Tim Whelan--Quarter finalists in policy debate

Josh Grabow--Quarter-finalist in Lincoln/Douglas Debate

Brenna Rausch and Brent Seehafer--Quarterfinalists in Public Forum Debate

National Forensic League District Tournament John Ward and Tim Whelan--6yh place in Public Forum debate

Jesse Nelson--semi-finalist in US Extemp

UDFL Student Congress Amanda Lambrechts--Finalist for the Thurman Award

Brent Seehafer--Outstanding PO in Experienced House 3

Amanda Lambrechts--Superior Speaker in Experienced House 2

Nathaniel Steinlicht--Outstanding PO in Inexperienced House 2

Katie Loutsch--Outstanding Speaker in Inexperienced House 2

Emma Christensen Superior Speaker in Inexperienced House 2

Allwin McDonald--Superior Speaker in Inexperienced House 1

East River Student Congress Mitch Wagner--Superior Speaker in Experienced House 1

Jesse Nelson--Oustanding Speaker in Inexperienced House 1

Nathaniel Steinlicht--Outstanding PO in Inexperienced House 2

Milbank Student Congress Katie Loutsch--Outstanding PO In Inexperienced House 2

Nathaniel Steinlicht--Superior Speaker in Inexperienced House 1

Ryan Hepper--Outstanding Speaker in Inexperienced House 2

Sam Grorud--Oustanding Speaker in Inexperienced House 1

NFL District Congress Amanda Lambrechts--Outstanding Speaker in the Senate, Day 1& Selected to represent the Northern SD NFL District at Nationals

John Ward--Nominated as top speaker day 1 in Senate, Alternate to Nationals in Senate

Jacob Manlove--1st Alternate to Nationals in House 2

Jesse Nelson--4th Alternate to Nationals in House 2

Brent Seehafer-- 3rd Alternate to Nationals in House 1

Tim Whelan--4th Alternate to Nationals in House 3